Undergraduate Scholarships

See the descriptions below for type and requirements

Graduate Scholarships

See the descriptions below for type and requirements

Communication Studies Scholarships

Undergraduate Student Scholarships

Elton Abernathy Scholarships

Description: Each year several undergraduate scholarships are awarded to honor Dr. Elton Abernathy, who was the founding chair of the Department of Speech Communication and Theatre. Dr. Abernathy was one of a selected handful of faculty members at Texas State to be honored with the title of Professor Emeritus. In the spirit of his dedication to Texas State we offer to outstanding Communication Studies students these annual scholarships that bear his name.

Amount: Varies

Qualifications: To apply for the Elton Abernathy Communication Studies Scholarship, you must be registered as an undergraduate Communication Studies major or minor, and have a Texas State GPA of at least 3.0. Applicants are evaluated based on their academic record, university involvement and/or employment history.

Willbern Family Scholarships

Description: The Willbern Family Scholarships have been generously endowed by the families of Clyde, Roy and York Willbern in honor of their love of communication studies. The Willberns are Distinguished Alums of Texas State University and members of the LBJ Debate Society Hall of Fame. Roy and Clyde Willbern are also Department of Communication Studies Outstanding Alums and York was a charter member of the Texas State Chapter of Pi Kappa Delta. Roy Willbern served as a long-time member of the Department's Advisory Council.

Amount: Varies

Qualifications: To apply for the scholarship, you must be a Communication Studies major, be classified as a Junior or Senior full-time student, have an overall GPA of 3.25 or better, and be a permanent resident of the State of Texas. The scholarship may be renewed if the student maintains a 3.25 GPA..

Jack Martin Endowment in Political Communication

Description: The Jack Martin Political Communication Endowment provides scholarships and internships to deserving students studying Political Communication. Several awards are made each year from this fund. This Endowment is named for Texas State Distinguished Alumnus Jack Martin, the chairman and founder of Public Strategies, Inc. Mr. Martin previously served as executive assistant to his longtime friend and mentor, U.S. Senator Lloyd Bentsen. Marin retired from partisan politics in 1994 at the age of 40, with a near perfect record of campaign victories. In his home state of Texas, Martin has been active in public service and numerous civic organizations.

Amount: Varies

Qualifications: Applicants must be a Political Communication minor or Communication Studies major studying political communication at Texas State. Jack Martin Endowment internship will be awarded to support students currently pursuing political or civic engagement internships. Jack Martin scholarship funds are awarded based on overall academic achievement. There is no minimum GPA to apply for Jack Martin Endowment funds, but awards are extremely competitive.

Graduate Student Scholarships

Dr. Steven A. Beebe Communication Studies Graduate Student Scholarships

Description: This scholarship fund was established in 1993 by Dr. Steven A. Beebe, former Chair of the Department of Communication Studies. Beebe Graduate Student Scholarships are awarded to Communication Studies graduate students who demonstrate outstanding academic achievement.

Amount: Varies

Qualifications: Communication Studies graduate students with a GPA of 3.5 or better may apply for a Beebe Graduate Student Scholarship. Applicants will be evaluated based on their academic achievements.

M Lee Williams and Cathie Fleuriet Communication Studies Graduate Teaching Scholarship

Description: This scholarship recognizes one M.A. level graduate instructional or teaching assistant in the Department of Communication Studies for outstanding teaching performance.

Amount: $1000

Qualifications: Applicants must be currently enrolled M.A. students in the Department of Communication, who are serving as Graduate Instructional or Teaching Assistants. The recipient should demonstrate the personal qualities of dedication and commitment to teaching as well as effectiveness in the classroom. To be considered for the scholarship, applicants must submit a copy of their vita to the review committee.